[ENG] Line of sight/Range and Reactive Order + Ki

Preguntas sobre las reglas | FAQ
Post Reply
Cara
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2018 1:49 pm

[ENG] Line of sight/Range and Reactive Order + Ki

Post by Cara » Wed Aug 29, 2018 4:58 pm

Hey there,

as announced, here are a couple of questions that we had during our beginners game... I'm sorry that they are reeeaaaally technical, but that happens when 4 academics (and 3 of those studied math...) play a game. :roll:

1. Line of sight/ranged combat clarification:

In Example 1:

Image

A1 can see 5 enemy Miniatures (B1, B2, B5, B6 - B7 partially)
A2 can see 4 Miniatures (B1, B5, B6 – B2 partially)
A3 can see 2 Miniatures (B1, B5)
A4 can see no enemy Miniatures.

Does that mean, that Unit A is considered to see 5 Miniatures (B1, B2, B5, B6, B7) of B, while A4 can not participate in any ranged combat against B, while B3, B4 and B8 are safe from any ranged damage?
So the three Miniatures A1-A3 can shoot on B normally, and if they inflict more wounds than they would need to kill the 5 visible Miniatures, the excess damage is simply lost?

2. Line of sight - Units blocking vision

If the terrain indicated in the picture above would be a Unit in closed formation (or a big Miniature). Do I check line of sight with the outline of the bases? (basically assuming all Troops are cuboids with the measurements of the base and a height according to the volume of the troop when determining line of sight instead of taking the pose of a miniature into account)

3. Range 1

a) Do I measure range by measuring the closest distance between the bases? (→ red line in Picture)

Image

Assuming so...
b) Unit A tries to shoot Unit B. The red lines indicate the maximum range of A.

Image

A1 has 2 Bs in range.
A2 has 4 Bs in range.
A3 has 6 Bs in range.
A4 has 6 Bs in range.

Are B4 and B8 safe from damage?
Is Unit B considered in range?
Which of the miniatures of A can participate in the ranged combat?

4. Range 2

Taking the example from the last question, but let's say the red lines indicate the border between mid- and long-range, while all Bs are at least in long range of all As.
Is Unit B considered at long-range or mid-range?
My guess would be mid-range, since in total I count 18 times mid-range and 14 times long-range (when checking each pairing of A and B for range...).
Or is the target unit simply considered as one, and the nearest Miniature counts? (In this case: B1/B5 are in mid-range for all As-> Unit B is in mid-range.

5. Spending an order on a reaction

Player A rolls 2 Orders + Ki for his active unit.
Player B then attacks a reactive Unit of Player A, forcing A to use one of his Orders on the reactive Unit.
Can A activate a Ki-Abiliy of the reactive Unit instead of the active unit?
Also: Does the activated Ki-Ability have to be declared immediatly after rolling a 6+ on an order roll?

Soooo... yeah, that's it for now. :D
As I mentioned somewhere else, we spent way too much time for my taste during the game discussing how line of sight and range works... :|

Best wishes,
Cara

User avatar
ajmendoza
Posts: 416
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 10:27 am

Re: [ENG] Line of sight/Range and Reactive Order + Ki

Post by ajmendoza » Wed Aug 29, 2018 5:59 pm

Hello Cara,

thanks for asking, very useful doubts.
Cara wrote:
Wed Aug 29, 2018 4:58 pm

So the three Miniatures A1-A3 can shoot on B normally, and if they inflict more wounds than they would need to kill the 5 visible Miniatures, the excess damage is simply lost?
Exactly. Those extra wounds are lost.
Cara wrote:
Wed Aug 29, 2018 4:58 pm

2. Line of sight - Units blocking vision

If the terrain indicated in the picture above would be a Unit in closed formation (or a big Miniature). Do I check line of sight with the outline of the bases?
Yes. That unit/miniature is considered as a big cube.

Cara wrote:
Wed Aug 29, 2018 4:58 pm

3. Range 1

a) Do I measure range by measuring the closest distance between the bases? (→ red line in Picture)
Well assumed

Cara wrote:
Wed Aug 29, 2018 4:58 pm

b) Unit A tries to shoot Unit B. The red lines indicate the maximum range of A.

[...]

Are B4 and B8 safe from damage?
Is Unit B considered in range?
Which of the miniatures of A can participate in the ranged combat?
Nop, those miniatures are not safe. You should measure from each miniature to the external edge of the enemy unit. If the first rank is in range, the whole unit is also in range. If any of your unit's miniatures are out of range, cannot participate on the ranged attack, but (again) as long as the miniature reach the first rank, its attack affects to the whole enemy unit.
Cara wrote:
Wed Aug 29, 2018 4:58 pm

4. Range 2

[...]

My guess would be mid-range, since in total I count 18 times mid-range and 14 times long-range (when checking each pairing of A and B for range...).
Again you assumed well. The enemy unit is within a mid-range as long as the most of the attacking miniatures are in mid-range.

Cara wrote:
Wed Aug 29, 2018 4:58 pm

5. Spending an order on a reaction

Player A rolls 2 Orders + Ki for his active unit.
Player B then attacks a reactive Unit of Player A, forcing A to use one of his Orders on the reactive Unit.
Can A activate a Ki-Abiliy of the reactive Unit instead of the active unit?
Also: Does the activated Ki-Ability have to be declared immediatly after rolling a 6+ on an order roll?
A is the one that can activate the Ki-ability. The reactive unit cannot activate it unless that reactive unit were activated before somehow and got the ki-ability, in that case the ki-ability keep activated until the end of the turn.

And the Ki ability must be declared immediately after the Order roll indeed. (although we use to forget it and activates it when is necessary hehehe)
Cara wrote:
Wed Aug 29, 2018 4:58 pm
As I mentioned somewhere else, we spent way too much time for my taste during the game discussing how line of sight and range works... :|
Miniature wargames has those issues. I tried to simplify it as much as possible buuuutt...

Thank you very much indeed for asking these, this is very useful for the whole community.

Best!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest